Skip to main content

Establishment of Polling Districts


As soon as constituencies have been delimited by the Delimitation Commission, the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) divides each constituency into polling districts in consultation with and involvement of stakeholders comprising traditional leadership, local authorities, civil society and the general public.  This exercise is carried out in collaboration with these primary stakeholders to provide accessibility of polling areas to the voting public.  Following the determination of polling districts, polling stations are identified in each district.

The names of established polling districts and identified polling stations are published in the Gazette and such other manner as the IEC may consider appropriate.

The IEC may from time to time add to the number of polling stations established in any polling district or vary a situation within a polling district of any polling station established therein.

Polling stations outside the country are established at all Botswana Embassies and consular missions and at other such places the IEC may consider necessary.

Where can I get more information on this Service

Please contact the office listed below:

The Secretary

Independent Electoral Commission

Private Bag 00284

Gaborone, Botswana


Phone: (+267) 361 2400

Toll free No: 0800 600 710

Fax: (+267) 3900581/3905205/3190889

Website: ,

Facebook: IEC Botswana

Email: iec_info [at] (iec_info[at]gov[dot]bw)


Opening hours: 07:30 to 12:45 and 13:45 to 16:30 Monday to Friday, except public holidays.

Additional information can also be obtained in the Electoral Act.

Give Us Feedback