Skip to main content

About Our Country

Country Size

Botswana covers an area of 581,730km2 square kilometres.


2, 292, 000 as per the last census (2011).

Capital City


Head of State

His Excellency, Dr. Mokgweetsi Eric Keabetswe Masisi (5th President)

Geographical Information

Botswana is a land-locked country dominated in geographical terms by the Kalahari Desert - a sand-filled basin averaging 1,100 meters above sea level. Botswana is bordered by Zambia and Zimbabwe to the northeast, Namibia to the north and west, and South Africa to the south and southeast.
In the northern part of Botswana, four countries (Zambia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, and Namibia) meet at a single point mid-stream of the Zambezi River.
The country lies between longitudes 20°C and 30°C degrees east of Greenwich Meridian and between the latitudes 18°C and 27°C approximately south of the Equator.
The country is situated in the Southern African region and about two-thirds of Botswana lies within the Tropics; it is bisected by the Tropic of Capricorn.

Time Zone

GMT +2

Climate and Seasons

Botswana's climate is semi-arid though it is hot and dry for much of the year. The country experiences all the four seasons namely summer, autumn, winter and spring.
The summer season begins in November and ends in March, bringing with it temperatures that can sometimes reach a blistering 44°C.
The winter season begins in May and ends in August. Winter days are invariably sunny and cool to warm. However, evening and night temperatures can drop below freezing point in some areas especially in the southwest. Sometimes frost is common and small quantities of water can freeze. This is also the dry season when virtually no rainfall occurs. The in-between periods - April/early May and September/October - still tend to be dry, but the days are cooler than in summer and the nights are warmer than in winter.


Rain falls during summer, the peak falls are usually reached during the months of January and February.


Botswana has a number of tribes across the country, collectively known as Batswana. The official language is English and Setswana is the national language, although there are other spoken languages.


The country follows a multi-party democracy and holds national elections every five years. The President is the head of the state and The Government comprises three arms being; Executive, Legislature and the Judiciary. Botswana follows dual legal system, combining Roman Dutch law with customary law.


Botswana's unit of currency is the Pula (BWP), which is divided into 100 Thebe (t). Major credit cards, including VISA, MasterCard, American Express and Diners Club, are widely accepted.


International Health certificate of vaccination for Yellow fever is required from travellers or through the countries which have been declared Yellow Fever Infected Areas.
Botswana has a five tier health system comprising of health post, clinic, primary hospital, district hospital and referral hospitals.
Consultation in public health facilities are subsidized, citizens pay BWP5 and non-citizens pay BWP50.


The Daily News is the state-owned daily newspaper, published in Setswana and English and there are also independent newspapers published in Botswana.
Radio Botswana and Radio Botswana 2 - both state-owned, broadcast nationally. Private radio stations namely; Yarona, Duma, Gabz FM are also all available in most of major towns and villages in Botswana.
Botswana Television, a state owned media entity is available to over 90% of Botswana’s population. eBotswana is the only private television station in Botswana and is accessible in Gaborone (Capital City) and surrounding villages.


International dialing code is +267 and domain name is bw. The telecommunication market comprises of (three) (3) mobile operators and one fixed line operator. Wi-Fi connectivity through hotspots is available in major malls and airports.



Major areas (towns or villages) of the country are linked by road, rail and air with airports in Gaborone, Francistown, Kasane and Maun. The Public Highway Network stands at 18, 443, 8 km with about 7383.2 km of paved and 11060.6 km of unpaved roads.
About five (5) carriers (Air Botswana, Air Namibia, Ethiopian Airlines, South African air link and South African Express offer direct connections between Botswana, South Africa, Ethiopia and Namibia. The Botswana Railway runs a daily service between Francistown, Gaborone and Lobatse.
Major villages and towns can be accessed through public transport while ease of travel around town or major villages’ car hire services are available at a cost.

Tourism and Hospitality

About 42% of land mass reserved for conservation of its wildlife and it is covered by national parks and game reserves. Botswana has two (2) World Heritage sites listed by UNESCO, the Okavango Delta and Tsodilo Hills.
The industry is served by a network of hotels and lodges offering a range of services such accommodation, food and beverages, meetings and events, gaming, entertainment and recreation and tourism services.


Botswana has a vibrant mining sector and It is the largest contributor to the country’s economy and accounts for a quarter of the country’s GDP. The country is one of the largest producers of diamonds. Other minerals mined are nickel-copper, coal, soda ash, gold, silver, semi-precious stones, and granite.


In the absence of specific bilateral agreements, all visitors entering Botswana must hold a passport that is valid for at least six months, except those with United Nations Convention travel documents.

All Citizens of Commonwealth countries do not require visa except those from Bangladesh Cameroon, Ghana, India, Nigeria, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Foreign nationals whose countries have signed a Visa Abolition Agreement with Botswana are also not required to apply for a visa. Valid entry visas for the countries which do require them may be obtained from Botswana's various embassies and High Commissions abroad.

In countries where Botswana is not represented, visas may be obtained from the download fill scan and send. Entry visas obtained at border posts are valid for a maximum 14 days. Visitors are not allowed to stay in Botswana for more than 90 days in every calendar year. Extensions may be obtained from any Department of Immigration office in Botswana.