Republic of Botswana
Government portal

The Ministry of Agriculture is to develop on a sustainable and competitive basis the agricultural sector by improving farm incomes, generating employment opportunities and raw materials for agric businesses; conserving agricultural natural resources through the promotion and adoption of appropriate technologies and management practices. In 1989 the Ministry of Agriculture was reorganized into four departments, three support divisions and five parastatal organizations. Regrettably, the ministry continues to be faced with serious challenges of lack of capacity to deliver services particularly the extension service. These challenges, which are not peculiar to the ministry, affect the whole public service. In recognition of this we embarked on, among others an organization and methods review the purpose of which is to enhance the ability of the ministry to streamline its activities.