Local time: Monday, 17 February 2020 21:34:11hrs
I am looking for: 

Ministry of Employment, Labour Productivity and Skills Development
Department of Labour and Social Security
Department of Labour and Social Security

The Department is to implement labour laws and policies. Services offered by this department are:

  • Mediation of trade disputes
  • Carrying out Labour inspections
  • Processing workers compensation claims
  • Processing work permits
  • Monitoring training and localization
  • Promotion of collective bargaining
  • Employment exchange
  • Coordinating of the Decent Work Country Programme
  • Research, Information and Labour Statistics
    • Coordinate and promote implementation of Decent Work Country Program


The functions and services fall under five (4) Acts of Parliament; these being:-

  • The Employment Act (Cap 47:01)
  • The Trade Disputes Act (Cap 48:02)
  • The Trade Unions and Employers Organization Act (Cap 48:01)
  • The Workers Compensation Act of 1998 (Cap 47:03)
  • Immigration Act of 2011

There are eight (8) Regional Labour Offices in the country at Lobatse, Selibe-Phikwe, Francistown, Maun, Serowe, Kasane, Gaborone I and Gaborone II.

There are twenty three (23) District Labour Offices.

Printable version
Copyright © 2011 Government of Botswana. All rights reserved.