Local time: Monday, 17 February 2020 02:52:11hrs
I am looking for: 

The Parliament Office(PO)

The Member of Parliament for South East North, Honourable Olebile M. Gaborone and the Member of Parliament for Kgatleng West, Honourable Gilbert S. Mangole are scheduled to leave for Horsens, Denmark today, to attend the 28th African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Parliamentary Assembly and the 23rd Session of the African, Caribbean and Pacific-European Union (ACP-EU) Joint Parliamentary Assembly from the 23rd - 30th May 2012. The ACP is composed of the following Standing Committees:

1.     Standing Committee on Social Affairs and the Environment
2.    Standing Committee on Economic Development, Finance and
3.     Standing Committee on Political Affairs

Botswana is currently a member of the ACP-EU Standing Committee on Social Affairs and Environment.

The following urgent topics will be discussed:

• The situation in Sudan and South Sudan

• The situation in Nigeria

The meeting is  also expected to discuss the following issues among others:

1. The social and environmental impact of mining in ACP countries.

2. Price volatility, the functioning of global markets for agricultural products and their impact on food security in ACP countries.

3. The Political Impact of the Libyan conflict on neighbouring ACP and EU States.

4. The reform of European fisheries policy and its impact on the ACP countries.

5. The importance of access to energy for economic growth and achievement of the Millennium Development Goals.

6. ICT-based entrepreneurship and its impact on development in the ACP countries.

7. Challenges for the EU and the ACP Group to address the political and humanitarian crisis in Somalia.

8. The political situation in ACP and EU Member States.

9. State of play of Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) process (negotiation and implementation) and the way forward.

10. Progress and challenges of regional integration and cooperation.       
11.  Climate action: a joint undertaking of the European Union and
     the ACP countries.

The Honourable Members are expected back home on 1st June, 2012.   

Printable version
Copyright © 2011 Government of Botswana. All rights reserved.