Local time: Monday, 17 February 2020 20:30:24hrs
I am looking for: 

Requirements for VISA application

What is Visa?

A visa is the authority given to foreign nationals to enter Botswana.


Who is eligible to apply for this service?

All Citizens of Commonwealth countries do not require visa except those from Bangladesh, Cameroon, Ghana, India, Nigeria, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Foreign nationals whose countries have signed a Visa Abolition Agreement with Botswana are also not required to apply for a visa.


N.B. Those who have permits but decide to stay outside the country for more than six months are required to apply for a visa when they come back to Botswana.


What is required for application of this service?

  • Covering letter from the host.
  • Certified copies of permits (work and residence) from the host or the National Identity Card (Omang).
  • Application form filled by the applicant.
  • Itinerary or flight schedule
  • Copies of business documents (if the host is running a business).
  • Copies of marriage certificate, birth certificate, and ordination certificate (pastors)
  • Bank statements and hotel bookings.

Where can I apply for a visa?


There are 20 diplomatic missions in 17 countries around the world where visa applications can also be made: Australia, Belgium, Brazil, China, Ethiopia, India, Japan, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa (Pretoria, Johannesburg, Cape Town), Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United Nations(New York), Zambia and Zimbabwe.



List of countries whose nationals/citizens do not require a visa for entry into Botswana.


  • All Commonwealth countries (except for Bangaldesh,Cameroon,Ghana, India, Nigeria, Pakistan and Sri Lanka).
  • Agentina
  • Angola
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • Czech Republic
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Denmark
  • Dominican Republic
  • Estonia
  • Federal Republic of Germany
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Holy See
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstin
  • Luxenbourg
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway and Colonies
  • Oman
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • San Marino
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovania
  • South Arabia
  • South Korea
  • South Sudan
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

NB: All countries that are not listed require visa for entry into Botswana.


Please download the Visa Application Form here.


Applicants can also submit applications at Regional and District Offices around the country.


How long does it take to get a visa?

7 - 14 days


NB: Customers are expected to collect their passports within seven days and if they don’t they are phoned to come and collect them. Those who applied at the Regional and District Offices are posted back to the responses at their respective offices.



Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Tel: 361 1300

Migration and Visa Division

Tel: 361 1327/44

Toll Free: 0800 600 777





Downloadable Form
Service Branches:
You may locate the service branche in charge in the  
Copyright © 2011 Government of Botswana. All rights reserved.